DIS/POSSESSION by Lisa Cheby

This little poem reminds me of Tori Amos’ song, “Icicle.” If you’re not familiar with it, get thee to Spotify and give it a listen. In the meantime, enjoy reading!!

 

Dis/Possession

 

Everyone one has at least one vice.

 

If I wear a bonnet when I go alone

to Easter service, am I dating myself?

 

My mother said she was ready

to die when my sister found

someone to take care of her –

 

though Mom did not mean

the way you come

into my bed on the night

she died

 

over and over,                alone

I take this vow to live

 

my life of little deaths.

 

Lisa Cheby holds an MFA in Poetry from Antioch University, is an MLIS candidate at San Jose State University, and is the poetry editor for Annotation Nation.  Her poems and reviews have appeared in various journals including The Rumpus, The Citron Review, Tidal Basin Review and A cappella Zoo and in the anthologies Drawn to Marvel: Poems from the Comic Book and The Burden of Light: Poems on Illness and Loss. Her first book, Love Lessons from Buffy the Vampire Slayer, is available from Dancing Girl Press and was recently featured in The Wardrobe’s Best Dressed Series.  http://lisacheby.wordpress.com

One comment

Leave a Reply

